Knight Commander

I’ve been asking the question of a few people lately: Do you know what a Knight Commander is? I remember reading about knights of the British Empire, the Order of St. George and the like. Then recently I was watching Patriot Games on The Movie Channel while I was waking up and Jack Ryan was knighted by the Queen, KCVO. KCVO is Knight Commander of the Royal Victorian Order. I’m not entirely certain if that’s an order that foreign knight can join or not, but I think that British citizens enjoy KCBE, or Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire. I’m sure someone can comment here and correct me if I’m wrong.

The point of the question is simple. Since I’ve taken a small break from writing, I’ve dove right back into it with a passion, but I’m kind of allowing The Quarterdeck Breed to rest while I concentrate on the first Hope Station novel to be completed. And it must be completed because I’m beginning to fray at the ends in trying to get this thing done. Knight Commander is the title of the book, though previously known on my hard drive as Untitled #17, and it covers a transitional period in the life of my main character, Melissa Knight. I’m hoping to have the first chapter completed by the end of the weekend.

Related posts


    • nixnivis on November 17, 2002 at 07:56

    It’s just KBE, not KCBE (probably because that would sound too much like KCB, Knight Commander of the Order of Bath). The Order of the British Empire (both the civil and military divisions), is awarded to Commonwealth citizens, though people from other countries can receive an honorary OBE if they’re really nice. 🙂 The Royal Victorian Order is awarded to both Commonwealth and non-Commonwealth citizens.

    • jetblack on November 17, 2002 at 08:05

    Are there other ranks of knighthood? I’ve heard of Knight Errant and Knight Commander.

    — ZC

    • nixnivis on November 17, 2002 at 08:22

    These particular two both have five classes: Knight/Dame Grand Cross, Knight/Dame Commander, Commander, Lieutenant and Member, and the OBE also has a Medal. The Order of the Bath and the Order of St. Michael and St. George have three (Knight/Dame Grand Cross, Knight/Dame Commander and Companion).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: